“Easter Morning”

Death Blog

The Lone Star State of Texas

April 24th, 2011  5:30am

Welcome to my nightmare… Tales from a dead man! 

“Is dying as a man more fear then living as a coward?”

Good Easter morning… greetings and respects and many blessings to all! The morning has snuck up on me once again and what a peaceful event it is thus far… the only thing I can hear is the silence, what a beautiful sound it is. I’ve slept late this morning because I was lost inside my dreams, it would seem I was dreaming inside another dream inside a dream… what a thought provoking statement that must be for some, but it’s exactly what happened last night and unless you have never experienced that then it’s hard to explain the feelings it has brought about.

As most of you know I write this from the death watch section on Texas Death Row… there’s now 8 of us here with execution dates inching closer and closer as the hour glass empties its sands of time upon the floor… one man has 10 days, another has 38 days… another has 52… and so on and so on, but I possess 88 days and compared to the others it’s like a life time! 

With it being Easter, the next added bit to this blog is most fitting for the day.

“Onward Christian Soldiers”! 

Onward Christian soldiers! Marching as to war,

With the cross of Jesus going on before;

Christ, the Royal Master, leads against the foe;

Forward into battle, see His banner go!

Onward Christian soldiers! Marching as to war,

With the cross of Jesus going on before.

Like a mighty Army moves the church of God;

Brothers, we are treading where the saints have trod;

We are not divided, all one body we,

One in hope and doctrine, one in charity.

Crowns and thrones may perish, kingdoms rise and wane,

But the Church of Jesus constant will remain;

Gates of hell can never “Gainst” that church prevail,

We have Christs own promise, and that cannot fail.

Onward, then, ye faithful! Join our happy throng,

Blend with ours your voices, in the triumph song;

Glory, praise, and honor unto Christ the King,

This thro’ countless ages men and angels sing.

That was put on my heart for some reason this morning, so it’s meant to be, and with that said and done I’ll close this out. …I still  remain  un-broken!  

  Mark Stroman, 2011  

     

10 Responses to ““Easter Morning””

  1. Gewitterfee Says:

    Hallo there!

    I´ve recently been tidying up my flat and several folders and there I found one too which I like very much:

    The Cross in My Pocket

    I carry a cross in my pocket
    A simple reminder to me
    Of the fact that I am a Christian
    No matter where I may be.

    This little cross is not magic
    Nor is it a good luck charm
    It isn´t meant to protect me
    From every physical harm.

    It´s not for identification
    For all the world to see
    It´s simply an understanding
    Between my Saviour and me.

    When I put my hand in my pocket
    To bring out a coin or key
    The cross is there to remind me
    Of the price He paid for me.

    It reminds me, too, to be thankful
    For my blessings day by day
    And to strive to serve Him better
    In all that I do and say.

    It´s also a daily reminder
    Of the peace and comfort I share
    With all who know my Master
    And give themselves to His care.

    So, I carry a cross in my pocket
    Reminding no one but me
    That Jesus Christ is Lord of my life
    If only I´ll let Him be.

    My thoughts are with you all on Death Watch and Death Row and I´ll continue keeping you all and also the other side in my prayers.

    I soon hope to go on holidays (hopefully without any terror acts on trains….must admit I do have fear at the moment); I´ll try to go online in that time as well and keep on following your blog.
    I guess your address has changed as you´re not in Polunsky anymore – ain´t Death Watch in Huntsville? So I wouldn´t know where to send a postcard, otherwise I´d also do that….

    Regards from spring in Germany!

    • Death Watch inmates are housed at Polunsky until the day of execution. On the scheduled day of execution following a last visitation period the inmate is then moved to the Walls uniy. There they will make any final phone callss, eat the final meal , and barring a stay breathe the final breath.

  2. Glad to hear you had a peaceful day Mark. We spent the Monday up in the Cumbrian mountains. Thought about you. a book on its way so you can have a walk with us through its pages.
    your good friends clive, Gina, Sam and George

  3. Ronnie9 Says:

    I came across this blog today and i have to admit that i absolutely hate TDCJ for all the wrongs 😦

    btw i have been following another blog by J B Whitaker http://minutesbeforesix.blogspot.com
    these men need our love, care and support

  4. Gewitterfee Says:

    @Ronnie9:
    I´ve gone onto your link yesterday and read there a bit; also on the Death Watch blog by Lee Taylor….
    No matter how maybe some death penalty proponents scoff about it, I could understand the matter with the last sunset….

    Just bought two cards with sunsets in my break today; I don´t know if they will arrive in time as there´s an execution date in June already and I don´t know if cards with a German text on them will be allowed; I just can try with a translation on the other side but I guess it´s worth that try, after all, what´s the worst thing that can happen – the cards being sent back, isn´t it….

  5. Ronnie9 Says:

    Killing a man never solved anything.
    these men may be guilty but have so much potential and could be put to work.
    I’m glad i in my country kenya the president commuted all death sentences to life as they were unconstitutional.

  6. Gewitterfee Says:

    I´m glad too about the Art. 102 GG (the article of the German constitution saying “Death penalty is abolished”).
    I mean, it takes the temptation off people.
    I am against death penalty and I think what I read here is sympathetic but I´m aware that I can well have that opinion as I was – up to now – never forced to cope with a loss by a murder.
    I suppose if one of my loved ones would be killed, I might and probably indeed would want the killer die, too. At least, it would be very arrogant of me to say “I would be strong enough never to have thoughts of hate and fury against such a guy”. The desire for revenge is quite human and quite natural.
    But at the same time, I would still know that God would NOT agree with that desire. Christians are called to try to overcome the wish for revenge and to strive to forgive the ones who became guilty against them.
    (I never understood why anyone seriously can think that “eye for an eye” story of the Old Testament, taken from the context, would prove God appreciates executions. I can only guess it´s the human tendency to look for any sign which seems to prove what one WANTS to believe. ´cause reading the New Testament and everything Jesus said, and even parts of the Old Testament – just look at Kain and Abel, “the one who will kill Kain will get seven times revenge” *, you can imho only come to the conclusion it´s NOT allowed to kill even a murderer. As it is said on another place: My ways are not your ways and my thoughts are not your thoughts. The guy whom you call and he serves you everything which you demand, is the waiter in the restaurant, but not God.)

    I guess if one becomes able to forgive, it will take its time because you have to go through a hell of loss and pain.
    And having the opportunity to demand a death sentence would probably be a strong temptation to many people. With that 102 GG, we don´t have that anymore, and strange as it may sound to some, I do find this thought relieving. After such a crime, you might have dreams and fantasies about killing that guy, but you simply don´t get the chance to really lay your hands on his life. So the danger is smaller that you commit a horrible sin in your weakened and injured constitution….

    Hope this was not too confused to understand; I don´t have my dictionary on me; it´s in my suitcase already. 😉

    Regards from Germany

    * I don´t know the correct English Bible text; I just tried to translate the German ones so sorry if I didn´t type the proper version. 😉

  7. Gewitterfee Says:

    PS
    To avoid misunderstandings:
    As I wrote in the past, German justice system isn´t perfect, by no means. It´s indeed much too soft (and many people think so).

    But abolishing the death penalty has been a gift, as I consider it.

  8. Ronnie9 Says:

    @Gewitterfee I do understand your sentiments. i don’t know how i’d react if i personally knew a victim, but i honestly don’t think i’d want a man to be killed to pay. ever since i was a child i’ve had fears about execution, i watched this movie with a firing squad execution scene and it still haunts me. let a man make his peace with God. if he is meant to die, let it happen naturally when his time comes.

Leave a Reply

